About the K-12 Innovation Partnership

The goal of the partnership is to provide some support to educators throughout B.C. who are interested in – or already are – pursuing innovative teaching and learning practices that benefit students in the K-12 system.

The K-12 Innovation Partnership was announced on January 29, 2015 by former Minister of Education Peter Fassbender.

Read the Press Release

Meet the Innovation Partnership Working Group

To bring the vision of the partnership to life, the Innovation Partnership Working Group (IPWG) was established in February 2015. The IPWG is made up of designated representatives from the following education partner groups:



BC Teachers’ Federation
Jim Iker, President


BC Principals’ and Vice-Principals’ Association
Kevin Reimer, President
Past: Gordon Li (Feb. 2015 – Mar. 2016)

Ministry of Education
Jennifer McCrea, Assistant Deputy Minister
Alternate: Brian Jonker, Executive Director


BC School Superintendents Association
Rod Allen, Cowichan Valley School District

Federation of Independent School Associations of BC
Peter Froese, Executive Director


Together, these partners set the vision and goals of the K-12 Innovation Partnership. Through a collaborative decision-making process, the IPWG determines how the partnership is implemented in the public and independent school system, including the allocation of available funds. They set intake dates, determine research and accountability outcomes, vote on partnership submissions, provide support to the schools included in the partnership, and more.

Supporting the IPWG is the K-12 Innovation Partnership Secretariat, who is a selected representative of one of the partner groups (currently, the Ministry of Education). The Secretariat provides project management support to the working group, manages the intake process and all administration of the partnership, and is the day-to-day liaison with partnership schools.

Contact Us